Selective Mutism

By – Aarushi Kumaria (1837314)

As a child of five, her first few memories were clouded by confusion. Separation of her parents was
not something that a five year old could understand or accept. Her home was chaotic and there was
no longer happiness around. As a five year old all she could remember was her father leaving. She
wanted to scream but voice barely escaped her lips. She remembered as she cried and hugged her
mother.


What is the answer? Can you explain the 5 th sentence to the whole class?
I got up from my seat which had now seemed too comfortable to me. I couldn’t dare to look up. It
was probably the third time, the teacher had asked me to answer but I had no answer to give. I
stared blankly into the book and wished she would ask me to sit down. The ticking clock at the side
wall grew louder with each second and I could feel my throat starting to burn. I could sense that she
is disappointed with my constant behavior of not replying in the class. I closed my eyes in panic and
covered face with my hands. I wanted to disappear. I shouldn’t have come to the school. It is much
better at home. I am not asked to explain myself.
They sometimes think I am shy or too rude to reply. It must be right. I feel a little different, a little
wrong. I feel like an accused unaware of my deeds. I didn’t know what was expected of me but I
know I was looked differently and so I was wrong.
I should tell them but what would I even say that I don’t know how to speak or that they make me
uncomfortable? No one could hear me the way I wanted to be heard. As the anxiety increases, I feel
choked by my own words. Sometimes words come out of my mouth and they don’t seem to make
much sense. I feel unheard, invisible.
I am angry with myself. Why do I have to be this way? why do I let myself appear like this infront of
others? Why can’t I be normal? I was wracking my brain trying to figure out what was going on and
how to get myself out of it.
I couldn’t understand back then and I don’t understand even now.


Selective mutism is often misdiagnosed as shyness and overlooked. Very few people truly
understand Selective Mutism. Professionals and teachers will often tell a parent, the child is just shy,
or they will outgrow their silence.  It can be at risk for multiple anxiety syndromes in adulthood. It
can also lead to separation anxiety, depression, sleeplessness and other personality disorders.
A traumatic incident or stress may lead to mutism but in most cases it is due to genetic
predisposition. It is important to understand that some children with Selective Mutism may start out
with mutism in school and other social settings. Due to negative reinforcement in schools of their
mutism, misunderstandings from those around them, and perhaps heightened stress within their
environment, there are chances of developing mutism in all settings.

Many children with Selective Mutism are as normal as other children in a comfortable environment.
The only difference is behavioural inhibition and inability to speak and communicate in most social
settings. They feel as though they are on display and on stage every minute of the day. They often
show signs of anxiety during social events and gatherings. They feel uncomfortable in crowded
places. Children with selective mutism, usually have blank expressions, awkward body language,
avoid eye contact, dislike loud sounds and withdraw into the corner. It can also be accompanied by
multiple anxiety attacks.
If untreated, it can lead to depression, poor self esteem, poor academic performance, social isolation
and suicidal thoughts.

Published by ZEITGEIST

A unique spirit or a nature, a climate or a feature. Every era has one aspect that becomes the soul, the identity of that era setting it apart from all the other epochs. A time, when everything moves at a breakneck speed, a time when the millenials take over the baby boomers, a time when every aspect of life must be decided upon so quick that we can hardly let our minds rest and most importantly a time driven by creations upholding the capabilities of the mind . Thus, in the era that upholds the human mind and its capacities above everything else, it becomes an undeniable necessity to discuss and understand the most indespensable organ. A time, when minds and mindsets are the focus of major discussions and debates, "Zeitgeist" in its essence is an attempt by the students of Masters in English Literature with Communication studies from Christ University, Bengaluru to become a platform, a stage, for discussions on minds and mindsets, on mental health, mental nourishment and mental issues. "Zeitgeist" thus, is an initiative towards nourishing and nurturing, the spirit that drives this era, Mental Health. Please Subscribe to get regular updates!!! :)

Join the Conversation

5 Comments

  1. Using dialogues and soliloquy, you have made it easier for the reader to understand the illness. Good!

    Like

  2. A wonderful piece. The poem expressed the very emotions and gave a excellent description to the article and the disorder. It would better if you added certain solutions that could help individuals with the disorder. Well written.
    Nikita Ann Mathews
    1837335

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started